Superstar Beethoven

Even today, in the early 21st Century, Ludwig van Beethoven is still the superstar among history’s famous composers.

Beethoven is everywhere – a global artist whose name needs no introduction and whose language requires no translation. Every day, somewhere in the world, there’s a Beethoven symphony or piano concerto being performed live in front of thousands of people. Millions listen to his music on CDs, radio or online. Beethoven’s music is played more than any other composer, and his 9th Symphony is played more often than any other piece.

Beethoven was the force behind the evolution of Viennese classical music, taking it to its highest form and paving the way for the Romantic era. Particularly for the core forms of Viennese classical music – the symphony, piano sonata and string quartet – the impact of Beethoven’s work on the course of music history could not have been greater.

But Beethoven was a lot more. He was a revolutionary, a visionary and a man of the world. He had a powerful imagination and brimmed over with musical ideas; he was melancholy, he was deaf; he was bold and passionate. Starting with his earliest days as a child, Beethoven’s life could not have been more intense.

Superstar Beethoven

Der Superstar unter den Komponisten heißt auch am Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts Ludwig van Beethoven.

Beethoven ist überall. Ein global wirkender Künstler, dessen Sprache keiner Übersetzung bedarf. Täglich wird irgendwo auf der Welt eine seiner Symphonien oder Klavierkonzerte live vor Tausenden von Menschen aufgeführt, gleichzeitig hören Millionen von Menschen seine Werke auf CD, im Radio oder per Internet. Beethoven ist der meistgespielte Komponist der Welt und seine 9. Sinfonie das meistgespielte Werk.

Beethoven gilt als der Komponist, der die Musik der Wiener Klassik zu ihrer höchsten Entwicklung geführt und der Romantik den Weg bereitet hat. Insbesondere in den für die Epoche der Wiener Klassik grundlegenden Formen der Sinfonie, der Klaviersonate und des Streichquartetts hat er Werke geschaffen, deren musikgeschichtlicher Einfluss kaum zu übertreffen ist.

Aber Beethoven war noch viel mehr. Er war Revolutionär, Visionär und Kosmopolit. Er steckte voller Fantasie und musikalischer Ideen, er war schwermütig und schwerhörig, mutig und leidenschaftlich. Beethoven hat von Kind an ein Leben gelebt, das intensiver kaum hätte sein können.